Fears and Doubts

image

You will not learn how to walk unless you take the first step.– Dick Acenas

At this point, I feel scared. I’m now in my last year in College, studying Bachelor in Secondary Education Major in English. Part of the requirements is to have the Practice Teaching. We are designated to a public school where we are going to teach for a whole quarter, in our case, in the first quarter. Me and some of my classmates share the same feeling. We keep asking this question to one another.

Are you ready???

And I think no one has ever said “Yes, I am ready.” It’s kind of scary to think that I’m going to be an actual teacher with real students. I am going to be their source of knowledge.

What If they ask me questions I cannot answer? What if they will not understand the lesson? What if I have a poor approach? What if my students are too difficult to handle?

WHAT IFS are just going to make you mad. You doubt of the possibility that you can make it. What If you did the right choices in life? What If you didn’t think that you can’t do it? Would you get into where you are now?

My dad quoted me that phrase above when I told him about how I am feeling about it. He just told me “No one started from the top. You can’t move on by thinking.” He is right. You cannot always live by just thinking about all the possibilities and the negatives. ‘What Ifs’ are only for cowards who don’t believe in themselves. Why don’t we say ourselves these words?

YOU ARE GOOD.

YOU CAN DO BETTER.

YOU CAN DO IT!

You just got to believe in yourself… everything will be possible

Leave a Reply

