Film Criticizing Filipino Movies

Last December 29, 2014, my family and I went to watch one of the movie entries in the annual Metro Manila Film Festival. I’m a Movie Junkie, so I can’t help but to criticize the film.

First of all, it was morbid. It’s kind of a gross movie. And I really hate those kinds of movie that’s disgusting. (Although it wasn’t all through out). The quality of the movie seems to me has dark lightings. Well, maybe because they intend to do it on purpose. I didn’t like how they shot the different angles, and how I got dizzy – but only on few scenes. Some lines are a bit corny but funny still. The plot was a bit short and fast-paced. Although, I already know why they do it – cut through details and get to the main point. Oh, the song they use in the credits was horrible! It supposed to mean a lot because it should be able to make the audience what the director would want them to feel. But they failed at that, seriously.

Anyway, I am glad I have watched it because it gave me some insights. I may have underestimate the power of Filipinos in making films and TV series but I will always believe in our capacity to improve. We are better at some things. But still, there are times wherein we can’t help stereotype SOME Philippine Films.

I’ve watched tons of Filipino movies. I remember when I was kid, I used to hang out on Cinema One. I kept watching Filipino stuffs over and iver again. (So, I guess I really don’t have much of a colonial mentality – maybe I just grew up and liked Hollywood alot)
I know it’s hard to be like Hollywood – ofcourse it is. Hollywood is Hollywood. We can never compete with that. All I’m saying, we have an entire life to make some improvements to become better at making films 🙂

Leave a Reply

