It was a Rhetorical Question

A Rhetorical Question is when you ask a person a question but you really don’t want an answer to it. You just ask it for the sake of bringing some enlightenment or reminder.

In my Philippine literature class, my professor asked us to write one question on an index card. Any question that we would like to ask or would want to know. So I always wonder: if all people would just learn how to understand one another, the world will be a better place to live in.

So my professor asked for my question and I said (in Filipino) “Bakit may mga taong di maka-intindi?” As I translate it, “Why are there people in this world who can’t seem to understand?” That is my rhetorical question. Because I already know the answer. I know why some people can’t and will not understand.

First, people have different views and beliefs in life. Obviously, how would people understand one another if they just seem to see things in different perspectives? Well, it’s good that the world is filled with people who have different opinions. But the question is – how could we have understanding if we don’t have a common goal? One of the most inspiring quotes I got from attending The Feast (a prayer meeting for Catholics founded by Kerygma preacher Bo Sanchez) is:

“If we only understand and appreciate our differences, we will avoid a lot of fights – and grow closer to each other.”

And I find that this is exactly my principle in life.

Second, they just don’t seem to care to understand. People who act like this are simply ignorant and carefree people. They think having no response is the response, but that is just absurd. It just appears that they are so selfish not to think about other people. It is said in God’s second greatest commandment: Love thy neighbor as you love yourself. One will never understand another if you will not allow yourself to appreciate other people. A little bit of care and sympathy is all it takes to show compassion.

Last reason why people don’t see to understand – and probably the main reason why we have a chaos in the world – is PRIDE. As in pride, wherein a person only sees and thinks what he wants to sees and thinks, for short, close-minded person. According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, Pride is a feeling that you are more important or better than other people. I hate people having such pride. I can’t deny but I used to be one but I’ve changed, I have become more understanding of the people and the situation around me. I know enough how to handle people with such high pride, and that is to IGNORE THEM. If you ever try to argue with them, trust me, you will never win. Never ever. They will just keep shouting at you (or just making their point all over and over to you) They will never stop unless you tell them they are right.

Lately, I had an encounter (or let’s say an argument) with exactly that kind of person. I feel so sad for them, for I know they will never change. And it’s really hard to deal with it. All you have to do is to Understand. Just Accept them for who they are. I know it’s difficult to not do something about it. But by it, you’re gonna have one less problem.

I’m starting with the man in the mirror. I’m asking him to change his ways. No message could have been any clearer. If you wanna make a world a better place, take a look at yourself and make that change.

Michael Jackson

Start the change within you. Be a good example.

Show them what humanity is…

Show them what the world needs, and that is UNDERSTANDING

Leave a Reply

